Why financial independence?

Some people call it retirement, but I call it financial independence because people look at me funny when I say I want to retire ASAP. I am after all only in my late 20s and haven’t even started on a career path. Retirement also has connotations of sitting around doing nothing and that’s the last thing I want to do. In fact I have a ton of things I love to do, but I just don’t find I have enough hours in the day because I spend the bulk of my time at work.

When I’m feeling cheeky and someone asks me what my career aspirations are, I say “Retirement.” And they laugh, but don’t take me very seriously.

In fact, I haven’t taken that goal super seriously because I had other things I wanted to do, like travel the world and live in other countries. But for the past year or so I have been back in Canada and putting a lot of serious thought into identifying a career path for myself. And still no dice.

Actually, I’ve been trying to figure out a career path in some capacity for the past 10 years ever since we had to start mapping out career plans and taking aptitude tests in early high school. I don’t feel much closer to figuring it out than I did 10 years ago and I’ve finally decided it’s time for a new game plan and that game plan is definitively financial independence. So let’s see if I can make it happen in a timely fashion.

0 Responses to “Why financial independence?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

