Paying myself back

Ok so I got paid on Friday (yay!) and had a fun week-end. Now it’s time to get down to serious stuff… Paying myself back. I basically took all the spare money I could ($775) and socked it into my Cushion fund. I don’t want to call it an emergency fund because I don’t really think of it as such. I want to get my cushion fund back up to $5000.

I’ve got $37 in my wallet and I’m not going to a bank machine until I get paid next. Granted that’s only a week away. If my pay days seems wacky it’s because it’ll be my first pay for my new permanent position. So after my next pay I’ll have a better idea of what my take home pay will be and I’ll be able to seriously start budgeting.

While it’s a relief to finally be able to count on a regular paycheque, I still have such a nagging feeling that I should have negotiated for a higher salary. I’m trying not to think about it too much because obviously it’s too late now. Instead what I should do is start keeping track of little victories at work so that down the road when I’m up for a review or a new position I’ll have lots of ammunition as to why I’m great and deserve more money.

1 Response to “Paying myself back”


  1. 1 Wooly Woman April 10, 2008 at 8:23 am

    That is a very nice cushion, good for you! I like the cushion fund idea, calling it an emergency fund always makes me wonder what an emergency is. For example, I don’t consider car repairs an emergency, but that is where the money came from when we had to fix the car unexpectedly. Emergencies just sound more dire 🙂


Leave a Reply

