Job perks

I’m always impressed by the pf bloggers who have good full-time jobs but decide to go out and get a part-time job on top to supplement their income. I personally don’t think I could do it, but if I did the thing that would sell me on a part-time job would be the perks.

Case in point, I’ve been short on cash lately but still I’ve been managing to keep busy. Last week-end I went to the Vancouver Aquarium for free because a friend of mine works there and free passes for her friends is one of her perks. When I lived in Toronto I worked at one of the major tourist attractions there, and got a generous allowance of free passes (worth $35 each) to give to friends/family, on top of being able to get into virtually any other tourist spot in the GTA for free, and often get a friend in for free too. Hello free harbour boat tours! That was a fun one that I’d never have done if I had to actually pay for it, but for free, why not? Another good friend of mine worked at GM place for a few years, and when she first started I remember her telling me how surprised she was at the number of professionals like teachers etc. working as ushers there. They did it for the free hockey games and concerts.

So if you’re thinking of getting a part-time job to supplement your income, don’t just consider the pay. The perks are important too!

1 Response to “Job perks”


  1. 1 esme April 8, 2008 at 8:14 am

    It’s so true about the perks. Now that I work at the coffee shop my friends come by for free drinks. Also, we don’t keep bakery stuff overnight so I bring left ever muffins and scones for the guys at work. They were made fresh the day before so it’s still good.


Leave a Reply

