Comparing credit card rewards

On the week-end I used up the last of my scene rewards points to go see the movie 21 with some friends. Now I’m sad that I don’t have any more free movie tickets. So I started thinking about signing up for the Scene credit card. Based on my spending last month, I would have gotten another free movie ticket! Plus I’d get another 2 just for signing up.

I decided to compare the rewards I’m getting to see if it would be worth it.

My main card right now is a CIBC Dividends card for which I get 1% in cash back. My second card is the Capital One Rewards card which I don’t really use much, the rewards can range from about 1%-0.4% back in travel, 0.075% back in cash, or 0.6% or less in gift cards. The Scene card would give back about 1.25% in movie tickets according to my calculation.

So that’s something to consider… Although I guess the really frugal thing to do would be to not go to the movies at all!

2 Responses to “Comparing credit card rewards”


  1. 1 Nick April 2, 2008 at 4:44 am

    To be even more frugal, you could live in a cave… 😉

  2. 2 Frugal Canadian Living April 22, 2008 at 5:42 am

    Rewards credit cards are great but you should only have one. The CIBC cash back rewards card with its 1% sounds good. Having more than 1 card means you are splitting your rewards and maximizing your rewards.

    I don’t think the Scene Visa is not worth it. But I have not worked out the dollar/reward dollar ratio.

    You might want to do something similar to my post on The Most Rewarding Esso Extras Reward.

    http://frugalcanadianliving.blogspot.com/2008/04/most-rewarding-esso-extra-rewards.html


Leave a Reply

