Remembering the big picture

I really enjoyed the Luck Is No Accident post that JD wrote over at GRS. The point about maintaining a strong social network really helped me feel less guilty about my busy social calendar (and the money that I spend because of it). On the 936750_borboleta.jpgweek-end when I was contemplating the poor state of my finances I envisioned a week of coming straight home from work, cooking a frugal dinner with leftovers to bring for lunch the next day and not spending a single cent more than I needed to.

But in reality I went to a free lecture after work on Tuesday, bought some extra groceries to join in on the potluck at work on Wednesday, and am meeting a friend for coffee tonight. I guess those are still pretty frugal activities, but it’s not quite the absolutely zero spending regime I feel I ought to be adhering to. Oh and Saturday I’m going to a costume party so I’m going to have to fork out a bit of cash to make myself look like a zombie.

That said, the article is right. It’s important to open yourself up to new experiences because that is how things will begin to happen to you. The other night I was cleaning up my gmail inbox and found an email that was a few years old from a girl who had sent me a job lead. I’d met her randomly at a party where I only knew 1 other person, we got talking and when she found out I was looking for work she kindly offered to email me a lead. I haven’t seen her or spoken to her since and had basically completely forgotten about the whole thing. But after finding that old email, I felt touched by the random kindness of the act. It may be cliche, but it’s true: things happen when you least expect it. In the grand scheme of things it probably is better for me to go out and meet people, rather than coming home straight from work every night so I don’t spend any money.

0 Responses to “Remembering the big picture”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

