More on weddings…

I dunno if this is going to change from a pf blog to a wedding blog, but it’s hard to think of other stuff to write about because this wedding stuff is kind of all-consuming. And I never thought I would ever be one of those types to get all into their wedding, but I’m finding it’s a lot of work.

I know everyone says that the first step in planning a wedding is setting a budget, but I’m kind of skimming over that… Because considering I’m so broke right now thinking about how much I can save for a wedding isn’t even on my radar. Basically the budget so far consists of what my mom has generously offered, but being the ever frugal girl, I kind of want to see how low I can go and still pull this off (half of what she’s offering would be great).

The wedding learning curve is a steep one, and even armed with all those budget wedding books I picked up, I’m still having to learn as I go. Our first priority is finding a venue, and my personal challenge to get the best bang for our buck is turning into a lot of work.

fc_wdg_bride.jpgThe boy and I fell in love with the first venue we went to see, but were in for a bit of a surprise when the venue event coordinator told us the minimum food and beverage order requirements. Lesson #1 learned on the job, wedding information package wording can be tricky so never assume, ask point blank what the minimums are up front so you know what you’re getting yourself into! Had I asked when I first phoned the venue we probably would not have bothered to go see it in the first place. But maybe that’s just one of the tricks of the trade, get the couple to fall in love with the place and trust that they’ll scrape together the cash.

Of course after seeing that perfect venue, it was a little harder to totally love the second very reasonable and affordable venue we looked at. So here I am spending a good chunk of time trying to research more options because maybe I have an unreasonable streak but I want it all! Affordability and the stunning outdoor setting we imagined!

I’ve spent hours scouring the web trying to find information on Vancouver venues that fit the bill. Being new to the city, I’m not really familiar with typical wedding venues and am kind of having to start from scratch. While I was glad to find this list of Greater Vancouver Wedding Venues, it’s quite a daunting task to go through the list and try and figure out what could be in my budget and offer what I’m looking for. Basically, I have to call each one up and get the info I need. A Lot Of Work. So it’s nice to find reviews on other blogs the give the skinny on places, and I’m glad that From Sparkly To… Single? has kept her blog up including these great posts on wedding venues, a bunch of which were ones I have been considering. Another helpful place for information on wedding venues has been this West Coast Vendor Review Thread over at the weddingbells.ca message boards.

I seriously feel so wedding’ed out and this is only the beginning! Although once the venue is booked, I think I’ll be able to relax for a good while before thinking about any more about wedding stuff. Maybe.

2 Responses to “More on weddings…”


  1. 1 Wooly Woman March 19, 2008 at 9:35 am

    What kind of venues are you looking at? Garden? Indoor? Heritage building? Just curious. It is a lot of work, especially on a budget. But worth it in the end to keep looking and find what you want for the right price. I think some places cater to those with lots of $$ to spend who don’t care if there are minimums etc. Good luck!

  2. 2 centsprout March 21, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    We want to have an outdoor ceremony, so right now golf courses seem to be an option. But really, we’re not picky. We’re even considering some downtown locations with nice terraces.


Leave a Reply

