Getting back on track.

Things have been busy for me lately and there’s been a lot going on and I haven’t been keeping up with this pf stuff. But I got a reality check when my credit card bill came in the mail. I basically don’t have enough in my chequing account to cover it. I’m going to have to dip into my savings again and that bums me out. I still haven’t found a job and while I’ve still got steady work temping, it doesn’t pay very well. I know that moving to a new city is expensive and I was expecting to have to use some of my savings, but I was hoping that by this point I would be on my feet enough to be at least breaking even (not having to dip into my savings, but maybe not necessarily having enough extra money to put into savings). For some reason this really stresses me out and right now I don’t feel like I can allow myself any luxuries whatsoever.

This is kind of a little tough though, seeing that I just moved to a new city where I didn’t know many people. I’ve been meeting a lot of new people and making new friends, which is awesome and I’m very happy about, but from a financial perspective making friends isn’t cheap. Mainly because when I first meet people and get to the stage where we are starting the friendship and making plans to hang out I feel obligated to always accept any invitations I get. I think that early in the game it can be easy for people to get the wrong impression if I decline something, they may think I’m not interested in getting to know them better or something. And people in general put themselves on a limb when inviting a new person out, and by turning them down it can put a halt to things. The thing is, usually going out involves spending money. Not necessarily a lot of money, but $10-20 here and there sure adds up and that’s probably how I find myself $200 or so short of paying off my credit card bill at the end of the month.

So my game plan for this month is going to be getting my spending under control. Thankfully, I finally feel like my place is more or less set-up, so there should not be any need for any more Ikea trips, and slowly my cupboards have become well stocked with basics (spices, olive oil, etc.) that will last me a good while so I should be able to keep my grocery purchases down.

I did want to buy a new pair of sneakers because my current pair has a hole in them, but I guess it won’t be the end of the world if I put that off for another month.

0 Responses to “Getting back on track.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

