Getting organized

Ok. I’ve been doing my research, getting organized to try and start putting together a business plan, and trying to find resources available to people wanting to start a small business. Unfortunately it’s becoming apparent to me that it will be pretty tough trying to access some of these resources while working full time, since most of these services are offered during regular business hours. For example, Small Business BC seems to have a ton of great resources, but they’re basically open M-F 9-5.

My business idea will definitely be part-time to start, so I’m going to have to be working another job to support myself. I could just try to look for a part-time job, but thinking about how little I would make pains me. I know starting a business should be all about following my dreams but the thought only making enough to live on for the next few years (?) while the business hopefully grows into something lucrative does not appeal to me. I still want to earn enough income to be able to put money aside to invest and save.

The problem with working part-time is twofold. The part-time jobs I can think of and would qualify for are in service or retail and therefore don’t pay much at all, and the low hourly wage combined with part-time hours just isn’t going to provide much of an income.

The ideal situation would be to find a full-time job that offers flex-time. But it doesn’t seem straightforward to find that kind of situation. Last week I had an interview and it was only at the interview they told me they would like the job to have flex hours, this wasn’t mentioned in the job posting at all. Needless to say, I’d be thrilled if I was offered that position, but until that happens I have to rethink my job hunting strategy if I want to focus on positions that offer flex-time.

2 Responses to “Getting organized”


  1. 1 davidkrupp February 13, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    Moonlighting seems like a good move for you. I linked an article about a couple of entrepreneurs who started side businesses.

    http://www.entrepreneur.com/management/article184560.html

    If you choose the moonlighting path, it will test your time management skills and disipline. The key will be to stay motivated. That’s why side businesses are often times favorite hobbies, because the owner can stay motivated longer without getting burned out. Maybe you can make your venture more flexible to fit around a normal job?

  2. 2 centsprout February 13, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Thanks for sharing that article, it was really interesting.


Leave a Reply

