Starting a business

I’ve been wanting to start my own business for a long time. It’s a slow process for me because it’s scary. Kind of like jumping into the stock market. I just spent $50 on educational materials specific to the type of business I want to start, bringing my total spending so far to about $100. It seems like a lot of money for me to spend, but when I type it out and see that’s it’s $100 invested into a business idea, then it doesn’t seem like much at all.

I really want to do this, but I’m dragging my feet about it because part of me thinks I should wait until I’m more settled, have a job and a steady income. But part of me feels like there’s no better time to start than the present.

The next step would be for me to write a business plan. That’s actually where some of these educational materials will come in handy. I also need to do some research about resources available to me, apparently there are tons of underutilized resources out there for young people and women wanting to start their own businesses. I need to find the local ones!

I guess I’ll be doing all of this in the evenings after work. Yup, I’m back at work after having a blissful week off. Now I’m kicking myself for not having done more of this when I had the week off, but that’s the way it always is I guess. It’s easier to get stuff done when you’re busy.

4 Responses to “Starting a business”


  1. 1 davidkrupp February 11, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    I have one quick tip. No matter what you’re selling, you should find a client that wants the product or service you are planning to offer before spending a lot of money or time in the planning stage. Just from my own experience, it should save you from later frustrations.

    If you have any questions, you can contact me at http://www.bizfreeordie.wordpress.com.

  2. 2 centsprout February 11, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Hi David,

    Thanks for the great tip. I’ve sort of ventured into this business lightly in the past when I was still in school and my products were successful in a couple of retail stores, so that part at least is covered. I’ll check out your blog!

  3. 3 mariam February 12, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    I’m curious as to know if the web will be incorporated into your business plan? I do think sites with products might be profitable depending on the niche… and it’s open 24/7.

  4. 4 Wooly Woman February 12, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Good luck with the business! That is exciting! I believe that at some point you do just have to take that leap, no matter how scary it is (and being prepared makes it way less scary). There are a tonne of resources for women in business – here there is a business meeting group once a month, and the BC government has several resources too (I believe, it has been a couple of years since I looked in to this). There are sometimes also mentor groups which you can join.


Leave a Reply

