It pays to be informed

I’m finding it a little tough to get back in to the swing of posting. I guess that’s what I get for taking such a long break!

Anyway, I’m slowly but surely learning to ask for breaks and better deals in order to save money. The funny thing is that each small victory makes it easier to do it again the next time. I totally used to be the person who would just take whatever was thrown at me and was always too scared to ask for a discount or anything like that. But stories in the pf blogsphere, such as Ramit’s account of how to negotiate out of bank fees have inspired to me to at least give it a try. The worst they can do is say no, right?

In preparation for my upcoming move, I requested to have my cell phone number changed to the new area code and had the $10 fee waived. How did I do that? I just asked. As simple as that. It actually surprised me at how easy it was.

When I told the CSR that I would like my number changed, she informed that there would be a $10 fee to do so. However, having done my research beforehand, I’d seen on a web forum that other users of the same service had had their numbers changed for free. This information gave me the confidence to question the CSR about the $10 fee, and she immediately offered that in some cases it could be waived and that she would do that for me.  So in the end I got my number changed for free and saved $10. But even better than the $10 is that this experience has given me a boost in confidence when it comes to asking for silly fees to be waived.

5 Responses to “It pays to be informed”


  1. 1 Ramit January 7, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Nice job! Congratulations.

  2. 2 Esme January 14, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    That’s great. It always pays to try. The best case is you save money, worst is they say no. You don’t lose anything by that. Keep it up =)

  3. 3 Frugal Canadian Living June 14, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    I guess it depends on which company you deal with. Rogers refused to cancel a service before 30 days of notice that they required.

  4. 4 Andrew Lynch February 19, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Hey,

    I’m actually working with Ramit from iwillteachyoutoberich.com, and he pointed me to this post.

    We wanted to hook you up with something cool as a thanks for linking to his site- six free chapters from his new book. Email me at andrewlynch88@gmail.com and I’ll send you the link where you can sign up for it in a few seconds.

    Thanks,

    Andy


  1. 1 A lesson in using credit cards « centsprout Trackback on June 14, 2008 at 11:49 am

Leave a Reply

