Creative gift ideas

704735_christmas_present.jpgI’m always on the look-out for creative gift ideas because I really hate buying something useless, even if it is a gift. When I buy someone a gift, it has to be something I feel good about buying or giving, and not something that I just buy because I have to give a gift.

I’d love to give people stuff like recycled toilet paper, eco laundry detergent, or any kind of environmentally friendly versions of regular household goods that people don’t always upgrade to when buying it for every day use, but I have yet to muster the courage to do so. As happy as I would be to get recycled toilet paper as a gift, I’m not sure everyone else would see it the same way.

Anyway, here are a few creative gift ideas I’ve come across recently:

  • For a wedding gift, I love this idea of buying bottles of wine that peak on the couple’s 1st, 5th, and 10th wedding anniversaries.
  • Another good wedding gift is this idea of an electronic picture frame loaded with photos from the ceremony and reception is good too (as a side note, I recently noticed that Michael’s Crafts carries electronic photo frames and they regularly distribute flyers with coupons for 40% or 50% off any one regular priced item, might be worth a try).
  • Frugal Babe’s photo blank card idea is really great too for any photography hobbyist (such as myself), and you can’t beat the price (again, a Michael’s coupon would do the trick for that since I don’t know if we have Hobby Lobby’s here in Canada).
1 Response to “Creative gift ideas”


  1. 1 mariam December 4, 2007 at 7:55 pm

    Is it really called recycled toilet paper? No marketing person came up with something better? 🙂

    But I really like the idea of wine and the peak date.


Leave a Reply

