Stay on top of dryer lint to save on energy

I ended up getting a $20 gift card for Chapters Indigo (from TD Bank, yup they obviously have more money than they know what to do with), so I finally caved and got a book I’ve had on my library hold list for ever but really didn’t seem like I would be getting any time soon since there are so many people ahead of me. The book is Ecoholic, by Andrea Vasil. I used to love reading the Ecoholic column every week in NOW when I lived in Toronto. Every Thursday on my lunch break, I’d go down to the lobby in the building where I worked and picked up the lastest copy of NOW to read over lunch.

Anyway, as I’ve said before, I usually don’t buy books, preferring to borrow them from the library, but I think this book will be a good reference to have around.

Here’s a tip on saving money when doing laundry: always make sure to clean the lint trap in the dryer. This is something that I often forget about, just because the lint trap on the dryer I use now is towards the back and not very obvious. Since it’s not in my face, I forget about it. Anyway, according to the book letting the lint trap get clogged up makes your dryer work harder. Consequently, cleaning it out on a regular basis can save up to $40 a year off your energy bill. That may not sound like a whole lot, but I can definitely think of something better to spend $40 on than being lazy/forgetful about cleaning out dryer lint.

Anyway, I’m really glad I got the book, it’s jam packed full of great information on how to save the earth, and a lot of that advice saves money too!

4 Responses to “Stay on top of dryer lint to save on energy”


  1. 1 Esme November 27, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    I haven’t heard of this book before but it definitely sounds interesting.

  2. 2 Wooly Woman November 29, 2007 at 9:01 am

    I have heard horror stories that dryer lint can catch on fire so I always stay on top of it- but now I know I am saving energy and money too! Thanks!

  3. 3 mariam November 29, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    I got the Indigo cards too! I have 3 of them as I made an effort to bank before work when they had their promotion. I felt silly going to the teller when I could have done it at the ATM but still…

    I’m deciding what book to buy. I like buying books because I hate the pressure of reading in a hurry – especially complicated books. It’s taken me a year to read the Intelligent Investor and I’m only on page 50, lol.

  4. 4 centsprout November 29, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    wow mariam you did good on those indigo cards!


Leave a Reply

