Help in finding a job

Moving to a new city can be pretty intimidating, especially if you don’t have much of a support network there already in place. Of course you will meet people and make friends, but that takes time. In the meantime you still have to find yourself a place to live and a job all on your own. But wait, there is help!

Did you know that in most (all?) major cities there are free resources to help you find employment? Employment Centers offer all kinds of services to facilitate your job hunt such as (but not limited to):

  • Access to job postings
  • Access to computers and printers for resume preparation
  • Use of a fax machine to fax applications
  • Use of a computer with internet to email applications
  • Meeting with a counsellor who can critique your resume, do mock interviews to help prepare you for the real thing

Best of all, lot of the time these services are provided free. When I moved to a brand new city after university and had to find my first job, I went to such a center and it was totally worth it. I got some great feedback on improving my resume, as well as some interview coaching. I was also able to print copies of my resume for free which was awesome because before I’d found out about that I was going to Kinko’s to do the printing and it was pretty expensive since I’d have to ‘rent’ a computer for $5 or something to open my file and then print it. Since I like to customize my resume for each job I apply for, I couldn’t just print off 20 resumes and be done with it.

The place I went to required all users to meet with a career counsellor first in order to use the service, which at first I thought was annoying since all I needed was a job and felt like I knew what I was doing. But it ended up being really nice to have someone to talk to throughout the job search process, which can be a frustrating process while you’re waiting to hear back from employers.

Here are a few employment centers I was able to find:

Toronto – Youth Employment Service, Centre for Education and Training

Calgary – Youth Employment Center

Vancouver – Career Zone

So if you’re looking for a job, do a google search for employment centers in your city and see what they have to offer. Happy hunting!

0 Responses to “Help in finding a job”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

