Diversions

I happened across an amusing article today in Calgary’s Avenue magazine called Money Talks, basically interviewing some local finance professionals and asking questions as to whether they follow their own advice. Unfortunately it doesn’t seem like the whole article is online, but here are some quotes:

On investments:

The worst

“… gym membership I only used once.”

Missed opportunities:

“RIM at $30, $50, $60…”

And this interesting quote “coming to the realization that it is time that creates wealth, not timing.”

Who would have thought? Finance professionals are only human too!

2 Responses to “Diversions”


  1. 1 Esme November 4, 2007 at 9:52 am

    Gym memberships. They were a big waste of money for me. The thing is everyone in there is probably paying a different price compared to the next person depending on what kind of promotion they signed on, what special contest they won from the gym, if they tried to leave and lots of other gimmicks they use to get people signed up to a long, long contract.

  2. 2 White Eagle November 4, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    It’s funny that you mention gym memberships because I’m currently debating signing up for one but it’s not one from one of those commercial gyms; it’s at my old university where I get a 50% discount as an alumnist for my 1 yr of membership and a discounted rate from there on out. It’s much cheaper than any other gym that I’ve found… now I’m just debating if I’ll be going there often enough to make the expense worthwhile.


Leave a Reply

