A twisty road

So yesterday I went to the bank to see about opening an account to buy some of those e-Series Funds I was talking about. I saw on the site it was possible to apply online, but I figured it would just be easier to do it at a branch, what with all the requirements for ID verification and orginal signature I saw mentioned.

Anyway, at the bank I was told there wasn’t anyone available to see me, so I would have to make an appointment and come back the next day (today). I did specifically tell the person I wanted the e mutual funds, and when she looked at me blankly, I said online mutual funds.

Fast forward to today, I get to the bank, wait for the consultant or whatever to be ready to see me. When I tell him I’m interested in the eSeries Funds, he tells me he’s not sure I can open an account at a branch and spend the next 10 minutes looking on his computer, and then on the phone (first waiting on hold for ever) and then finally tells me that just as he suspected I have to open the account online.

So that felt like a complete waste of time. So much for thinking that brick and mortar banks offer better service! I couldn’t find the information I needed online, or when I called the 1-800 number, and it wasn’t even straightforward to get an answer in person at the branch since I had to make two trips.

Anyway, at least the bank is near the library and so I went and picked up The Four Pillars of Investing that seems to be so highly recommended.

4 Responses to “A twisty road”


  1. 1 FourPillars October 30, 2007 at 6:58 pm

    Thanks for the link.

    Yes, I’ve heard you can only get those funds online which explains the low mer.

    I have a request – would it be possible to make your font a bit bigger? It’s a tad small.

    Mike

  2. 2 centsprout October 30, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    Thanks for the feedback Mike, I hope it’s better now.

  3. 3 mariam October 31, 2007 at 3:26 pm

    Yes, I vaguely remember going through this too. It’s a pain but it’s worth it in the end. I’m surprised how clueless these retail representatives are. If I remember correctly, once you get it set up, you can buy other mutual funds from other companies, not just TD e-series. Personally, I’ve just started buying it in from TD Waterhouse, their brokerage arm.

  4. 4 FourPillars November 1, 2007 at 6:11 pm

    Much better!

    thanks, Mike


Leave a Reply

