How I became interested in Personal Finance

It’s actually been a pretty slow road, but since I finished University and had to enter the workforce I’ve become more interested in it as a way out of the workforce. There are a couple of books that I feel have really helped me better understand how learning more about Personal Finance can help me.

I was first made aware of many of the basic concepts of personal finance such as paying yourself first, saving and investing, working smart not hard, when I was probably in Junior High. A family friend gave my brother and I a copy of the book The Wealthy Paper Carriers by Henry B. Cimmer. Seems like that book is out of print, but it was a great introduction to personal finance told through the perspective of two young kids who follow the advice of their financially knowledgeable uncle. The book follows them as they start to make money as paper carriers, and then into young adulthood and eventually becoming millionaires at a relatively young age thanks to their good financial habits. I remember it being a pretty easy read, even at that age. Unfortunately, I didn’t take to heart the advice in the book, including taking advantage of compound interest and start saving young! The kids in the book started by saving $200 a month and putting the money into mutual funds and RRSPs. When I was in Junior High, $200 a month was a lot a lot of money and I couldn’t image socking it all away into something as intangible as mutual funds and RRSPs.

Then in early 2006* I came across Derek Foster’s book Stop Working and found it incredibly inspiring. I decided I was going to learn all I could about managing my money in order to retire early. There’s a light at the end of the cubicle and I want to get there as fast as I can!

*I can’t believe it’s been that long! I’ve had other things going on in between that time but it really makes me feel like I’m not as far along as I should be.

0 Responses to “How I became interested in Personal Finance”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

