PC Financial Savings accounts and interest

Wow! I’m so impressed because this blog has already caused me to better my finances! Yesterday when I wrote the post on comparing bank accounts, I did some digging around the PC Financial site as research for the post and found out that they actually have two different savings accounts, with two different rates. I had no idea there were two, and didn’t know what kind I had.

Turns out, I had an Interest First™ savings account, with a current interest rate of 3.05%. But, the Interest Plus™ savings account has an interest rate of 4.25% on balances above $1000.01. So needless, to say, I put in a request to open an Interest Plus account and will be transferring my money over. Like in the article by JD in Ramit‘s Guide to Kicking Ass, it pays to sit down on a regular basis to scope out what offers are out there and make sure you are getting the best deal with your banking (and all other recurring expenses like cell phone, cable bill, etc).

3 Responses to “PC Financial Savings accounts and interest”


  1. 1 FourPillars October 17, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    Hi there, welcome to blogworld.

    Thanks for adding us to your blogroll.

    Mike

  2. 2 mariam October 17, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    Hello there! Nice to see a new PF blogger! Looking forward to see your posts as I’m quite new myself. Yes, my blog has held me accountable but at other times, I know better because I blogged about it but I still don’t do it 😉 That’s just human nature, I guess 🙂 Thanks for the blog roll and likewise.

  3. 3 Matthew November 19, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    I love PC Financial! I’ve had their free chequing account for over 3 years now, and I’ll never go back. I have no need for teller services, so I can’t justify banking with a “traditional” bank and paying monthly service charges. No charges for ordering cheques, either.

    Check out their PC MasterCard for great rewards, too.


Leave a Reply

