On cosmetics

Krystal’s post on being female is expensive has inspired me to write a little post on cosmetics. I’m actually not really into make-up because I’m kind of just really lazy. But I’m trying really really hard to get into the habit of doing my make-up for work because I do think that a small amount really does make a person look polished and more professional, which helps if you want to make a good impression and be taken seriously.

Anyway, if you are at all interested in spending your cosmetic dollars wisely, I highly recommend you get a hold of a copy of Don’t Go to the Cosmetics Counter Without Me by Paula Begoun. Unfortunately, the author stopped updating them so the specific product recommendations are a bit dated in the 2003 6th edition, (but I see a 7th edition slated for 2008). Regardless, the book still contains a wealth of information about how in the cosmetics worlds more expensive doesn’t always mean better, what products you’ve been convinced you need by sophisticated marketing campaigns but really don’t need, as well as a list of common cosmetics ingredients and whether they should be sought out or avoided.

It was a couple of years ago that I read it so details are fuzzy, but I do remember the author having good things to say about Quo eyeshadow and make-up brushes in terms of good quality for a good price. I was able to get the Quo make-up brush set free by cashing in my Shopper’s Optimum points (take advantage of 20x the points days to stock up on necessities). I was also surprised when she rated a line of $2 lipsticks as being really great. Anyway, skin care routines and needs vary greatly by individual so the best thing to do would be to read the book and pick out what applies best to you. You can also check out the author’s website, cosmeticscop.com. Although I don’t find it as comprehensive as the book, the learn section is still packed with useful information.

0 Responses to “On cosmetics”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

