Wedding round-up

Recently weddings have been popping up, I guess I must be at that age? Although to me it feels like I’m too young to be at that age, so maybe it’s just the start and it’s going to last like 5 years or something. Anyway, not that I’m jumping the gun and announcing a wedding or nothing, but as Ramit pointed out, a wedding can be a large expense and like any large expense it’s better to plan ahead.

Truth be told I kind of resent the expense of a wedding. It’s so not factored in to my retirement plan. But I feel that for the sake of my family and my future self, I’m obligated to have a decent one. At least one where people can come and party.

But first, being invited to weddings has been happening a lot recently. While I feel feelings of joy for my friends, the feelings of joy and excitement are soon eclipsed by a headache of how much it’s going to cost, especially if airfare and hotel are involved on top of the gift. So on the topic of being a guest…

From The Simple Dollar:

And for planning your own…

From Get Rich Slowly:

From Make Love, Not Debt:

From Fabulously Broke in the City:

And from Mr. Cheap‘s old blog (sorry, couldn’t find the post at QFFP):

6 Responses to “Wedding round-up”


  1. 1 FourPillars November 9, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    Thanks for the link.

    When Mr. Cheap moved over his posts over to Four Pillars, not all the posts made it and unfortunately that was one of them.

    I’ll have to see if we can repost it or something – it’s a classic!!

    Mike

  2. 2 esme November 9, 2007 at 2:57 pm

    I was watching MaxedOut and this couple was totaly going into debt for a wedding (about $35,000). When asked how they are going to pay for it on top of their existing student loan they said “usually, people pay for the price of their plate [through monetary gift] so we hope people are generous and we break even”. Now that is one wrong way to plan for a wedding.

    I hear you on the weddings. Do you find that slowly your vacation time and travel budget is being taken up by attending weddings? When it comes my time, I have no idea what I would do.

  3. 3 Wooly Woman November 9, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    People spend SO MUCH for weddings these days- to me it seems the trend is to spend more, and to have excessively extravagant weddings. I have been very lucky to attend some lovely low key weddings lately, where it felt so much cozier because the bride and groom had personalized the wedding, strayed from the usual, and only spent a moderate amount of money.

  4. 4 Mr. Cheap November 9, 2007 at 4:22 pm

    Unfortunately some posts seem to have got lost during the migration and I guess this is one of them :-(. Thanks for the mention and the link!

  5. 5 centsprout November 9, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    esme, i used to love watching maxed out! i don’t have cable anymore though… but once there was a show about this ridiculously fiscally irresponsible girl who was basically getting her mom (who had money troubles of her own!) to finance her high rollin lifestyle and funny enough a few weeks after the show aired i saw that same girl on the street!

    as for my vacation time, that’s a funny one because the way things are looking now my vacation time (from a job i don’t even have yet!) is already all allocated for a wedding overseas next year. same with my travel budget.

    wooly woman, i agree those low key weddings sure are a treat. it’s funny what a difference it can make. earlier in the year i got a super formal invitation for a friends wedding and was sooo stressed about what kind of gift to get her (even though i couldn’t actually go to the wedding). and next month i’m going to a wedding of a friend who made her own very cute and very untraditional invitations and gift shopping has been a lot more fun and in fact now i’m even in the process of trying to make the gift myself.

  6. 6 mariam November 9, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    Ugh, my cousin spent 60k U.S. on his wedding. It’s a long story but he paid it himself and I guess he can afford it. 40 years old programmer, living in Silicon Valley. Dude had been saving up for his war chest. :P

    Still, I prefer to be in a wedding where I actually know the people!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

